About Yellowstone County Museum

The Yellowstone County Museum was founded in 1953 by the Yellowstone Historical Society, Parmly Billings Library, the Pioneers of Eastern Montana, Yellowstone County, and the City of Billings. The McCormick Cabin was moved the current location in 1954. The museum opened to the public in 1956.

The Paul McCormick cabin serves as the museum’s entrance and gift shop. The YCM houses over 23,000 artifacts in 5,000 square feet of space. Exhibits are rotated regularly.


Sunday: Closed
Monday: Closed
Tuesday: 10:30am-5:30pm
Wednesday: 10:30am-5:30pm
Thursday: 10:30am-5:30pm
Friday: 10:30am-5:30pm
Saturday: 10:30am-5:30pm